Inside Incisive

Central Banking Awards celebrates industry achievements


Members of the central banking community from all corners of the globe gathered at the Central Banking awards on 3 March to recognise the achievements of their peers and partners.

Awards celebrating leaders in the field of central banking were handed out to prestigious figures from across the community.

Editor-in-chief of Central Banking, Christopher Jeffery, praised those in attendance for their “tireless efforts, dedication and passion” at a time when interest rates have hit rock bottom, oil prices are plummeting and unconventional monetary policy is starting to look, well, conventional.

Among the central banking winners were the European Central Bank, for the popular Website of the Year award; Christine Graeff, Director General Communications at the ECB, was on hand to collect the award.

“Watch this space, we’ll be back in a few years,” Graeff stated emphatically. The ECB impressively built one new website and overhauled another, tailoring both to a mobile audience, Jeffery said.

Governor of the Year went to head of the Central Bank of the Republic of Turkey, Erdem Basci; his deputy, Turalay Kenc, collected the award on his behalf.

But the highlight of the evening was the Lifetime Achievement Award, given this year to Dr Zeti Akhtar Aziz, Governor of Bank Negara Malaysia. She stole the show, delighting the audience with her insights on building institutions, developing markets and fire-fighting crises.

Zeti (pictured above) joined Jeffery on stage to discuss a range of topics, including how she almost singlehandedly “extricated Malaysia from the Asian financial crisis”.

Nine market practitioner awards were also handed out; LCH.Clearnet (market infrastructure) and HSBC (FX provider) proved it doesn’t matter how old the company is, you can still compete on the global stage.

“It is nice to be awarded for innovation after so many years,” said Martin Pluves, CEO of LCH.Clearnet Ltd, which was founded in 1888. “Hopefully we won’t have to wait another 128 years for the next one!”

A world-renowned academic was also honoured on the night; John Taylor was awarded the Economics prize for his paper proposing a rules-based global equilibrium.

“It is nice to be recognised for something new!” he said with a wry smile. “If it gets adopted, then I really do deserve the award.”

The evening ended with Philip Lane, the recently appointed Governor of the Central Bank of Ireland, collecting Central Bank of the Year. Modestly, he thanked his predecessor Patrick Honohan for the work done throughout his time there. “I hope I can be as successful during my term,” he said.

For more on all the award winners go to the Central Banking website and in the latest edition of the Central Banking Journal.


Latest articles

Older articles

May 2017 (1) March 2017 (1) January 2017 (2) December 2016 (1) November 2016 (1) October 2016 (3) September 2016 (3) August 2016 (1) July 2016 (1) June 2016 (2) May 2016 (6) April 2016 (2) March 2016 (2) February 2016 (1) January 2016 (2) December 2015 (3) November 2015 (3) October 2015 (4) September 2015 (5) August 2015 (6) July 2015 (5) June 2015 (4) May 2015 (7) April 2015 (6) March 2015 (7) February 2015 (4) January 2015 (4) December 2014 (3) November 2014 (4) September 2014 (1) August 2014 (1) June 2014 (2) May 2014 (2) February 2014 (1) December 2013 (1) November 2013 (2) October 2013 (1) June 2013 (3) May 2013 (1) April 2013 (1) March 2013 (2) February 2013 (3) January 2013 (2)